The model saving function works much like the save feature in a computer game: the current state of your explore at the time when you press save is stored in the system memory. This configuration can subsequently be applied to any existing project. This saving function is done by entering the Explore screen of the project whose model you wish to save and clicking 'Export as..' > 'Model' in this panel located in the top left corner:


image

 

N.B. Remember to make sure that you have remembered to save all the most recent changes of your exploration. If this is the case, the 'Saved' button will be dim and inactive.


Once your model has been created, you can navigate to the 'My Models' page and rename it to something informative so you can keep track of it easily. Any saved model can be applied to any other project. Either during the initialisation phase of a new project or by scrolling up from the main Explorer interface of an existing project, you should be able to find this screen:


image

Here you can choose the saved model you would like to apply from the drop down menu on the right hand side.


From the left hand side of the panel, you can also see that it is possible to apply the model of an existing project, by using the corresponding ID. However, you should be aware that there are a few nuances to this process.


The model from the entered project ID (let us call it project apple) is applied to your current project (project pear) in the state it is in at the time when you make this application. If you subsequently go back to project apple and make changes, this will not be reflected in project pear, unless you specifically reapply the model of project apple to project pear in the same way as before. On the other hand, if you make changes to the explore configuration in project pear which you decide you would like to take back to project apple, you can easily go back to project apple and apply the model of project pear, but the original project apple model will be lost unless you have otherwise saved it using the 'Export as...' functionality.


N.B. Although there are two ways to apply existing models to your project, if you want to be 100% sure not to lose an important model configuration, the most secure way to ensure this is to Export the model from the relevant project so it is saved in your account for as long as you need it and is protected from being accidentally overwritten. If you improve this model further after further exploration of a project you can always export it again later and give it a different updated name (e.g. version 2.0).